Sleep? What is that?

Ever since Friday I’ve been having the strangest dreams.  Honestly, they totally could be scripted into episodes of the Twilight Zone.  Every hour or so, I wake up from dreaming and I’m immediately wide awake.  Then, once I manage to drift back off to sleep it’s only straight into another strange dream!  BOOM, just like that, I am awake again.  It’s crazy I tell you!  It’s probably exacerbated by the fact that I am watching my Sister’s house and staying there each evening.  I slept well the first night, but I believe that was possible because there were others staying the night with me so my subconscious must have thought I was safe, that he was there to save me if anything disturbing happened.  Now last night, alone, in the big house, it was not good.  I woke up to the slightest noise, laid there assessing what it could have been and before slowly going back to sleep.  This repeated throughout the entire night, all the way up until my alarm sounded.

I thought my issue could have been stress related.  Perhaps I am more tightly wound then I realized during my waking hours.  Really, though, my life is going well and I don’t have any real complaints, so I nixed that idea.  So since I couldn’t think of any other plausible reason, I reached the conclusion that these Twilight Zone dreams and insomnia will forever be an unsolved mystery and I’ll solve the problem by just quitting sleep.  I know, I know, nobody can quit sleep completely, but for the most part I think I can.  What is sleep really?  Isn’t it just a somewhat a bizarre task our bodies perform.  We close our eyes, put ourselves in an unconscious state, lose all control over what we know and understand, then when the bell rings we wake.  And since, after last night, I have realized that I will definitely not be able to sleep soundly while alone in my sister’s home.  So, it just means that I’ll be running on only a few hours of collective sleep and will be injecting a caffeine drip during the day.

Let the fun begin!

“Wisdom comes through suffering.
Trouble, with its memories of pain,
Drips in our hearts as we try to sleep,
So men against their will
Learn to practice moderation.
Favours come to us from gods.”
― AeschylusAgamemnon

I would love to hear your thoughts! Comments are encouraged!

