Flattery In 3’s?

I have rarely heard a man say anything to me sweet enough to be worthy of it’s own blog until this week.  So, mark this on your calendars!

The other day I bumped into an acquaintance at the grocery store.  We ended up shopping and checking out together.  As we exited the grocery store he looks at me and says that he enjoyed our first date and is looking forward to our next one.  Needless to say, I’m stunned.  We were in a grocery store by coincidence only and he considers this a date?  Too cute.  I, of course, will avoid him at all costs going forward.  This is not because he considered the grocery store our first date, but because I run from any form of flattery.

Now, I thought the grocery store flattery would be it.  Flattery does not come my way that often so I was happy with that cute little comment at the grocery store.  Who would have thought that it would continue?

Yesterday, I was at another store with a friend and while we were talking he casually made mention that I look better with less to no makeup.  My initial gut reaction was to make a smart ass comment in response because I feel that I look better with makeup on and so I felt it completely possible that he was being sarcastic.  Nevertheless, since this was new and something I’ve never heard before, I decided to take it as a compliment.

Then, today I was at Starbucks, the greatest coffee shop, and I noticed this man staring at me.  I automatically turn on the avoidance, the ‘I don’t notice you at all’ tactic.  Perhaps I wasn’t pulling it off as well as I’d hoped because he decided to come over and wait for his coffee where I was so he could make small talk, apologize for staring, and explain how he couldn’t help it.  He said he found me attractive!   Again, scary flattery makes Casey run like hell.

Anyway, the point of this blog, it has been said that things happen in 3’s, so maybe -just maybe- the flattery has ended and I don’t have to worry about getting out of bed tomorrow morning.  If it continues then I think we need to begin a study in my area.  There is something wrong going on with the men in my area and if it’s not a medical outbreak, then I probably should be prepping for the apocalypse or a zombie attack.

 

 

Photo Credit: https://flic.kr/p/9JhCxB  License: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/

2 thoughts on “Flattery In 3’s?

I would love to hear your thoughts! Comments are encouraged!

