Daily Prompt: Mr. Sandman

“What kind of sleeper are you? Do you drop off like a stone and awaken refreshed, or do you need pitch black and silence to drift off to dream?

If someone is in bed with me, I am a cuddler. When I have the opportunity to cuddle I am guaranteed to have a restful sleeping experience. I’m not sure why my only true restful sleep is when I am cuddling but if the scientific evidence is true, it could be because it immediately calms me and it seems to melt my stresses away. Speaking from experience, I find that if I can keep a routine of adding ‘cuddle’ sleep at least 1 time a week, I have found over time it creates a mellower happier ‘me’ throughout the week.

So what do I do if I don’t have someone to cuddle with? When laying down for bed I will start as a side sleeper, ALWAYS on the right side of the bed. I’m not sure why, I have just always preferred that side of the bed. Sometimes I am nice enough to give the side up for someone else, like my dog, who seems to prefer that side of the bed too. Even though I start off as a side sleeper I usually wake up with my blankets tossed around or wrapped around my body like someone was trying to tie me down. When I wake up like this I call it my “crash-lander” position.

Falling asleep in any situation has not been a difficult thing for me. I don’t need it to be quiet or pitch black, I just need to be tired. The problem I have is staying asleep. I usually wake up multiple times during the night and without fail I will be up when the clock reads the infamous ‘3AM’.  Most of the time I can manage to fall back asleep other times I am forced to give up and start my day. These are the days I pull out and connect to my trusty caffeine drip.

 

Pingback: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/23/daily-prompt-mr-sandman/

Picture Credit: https://flic.kr/p/7Ux8U8 License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/

 

 

 

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Mr. Sandman

I would love to hear your thoughts! Comments are encouraged!

