Daily Prompt: Showdown at Big Sky

How do you handle conflict? Boldly and directly? Or, do you prefer a more subtle approach?

I have to say, normally I avoid conflict and work things out by myself. Now this isn’t the most ideal approach, though avoiding the conflict in the moment and staying calm usually results in the angry arguing person to grow tired and move on. I HATE arguing, I will genuinely consider the person’s point of view, say ‘ok’ and move on to avoid a long drawn out argument. I have learned that if a situation has come to arguing, then the person will NEVER see it how you do. Sometimes you have to say ‘Yes, I see what you’re saying’; by doing this you will slowly break down the other’s need to continue.

I had a person tell me once that I keep one foot on the brake when we would be having an argument. He felt I had withdrawn responses and show little emotion or energy when I would speak. I think his anger was heightened because I wouldn’t yell back. I would let him have is overly emotional agitated angry moment, while I would hope that he would get tired and move on so I could go do whatever it was that I was going to do previously.

Every conflict is different and with that your response will be. My response will almost always consist of a subtle approach with my foot on the brake.

 

 

Pingback: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/showdown-at-big-sky/

I would love to hear your thoughts! Comments are encouraged!

