Look Up or Look Down?

20140714-005026-3026046.jpg

20140714-005050-3050285.jpg

I would actually be shocked if you haven’t seen this video that has with viral. The look up video is real, it’s ‘heavy’ and overall has a good message. I think there should be a balance. There should be those times were people should look up and put away the technology away. The video is definitely a conversation starter. The first time I watched it, I was touched and it made me think about how often I have my head down and my fingers swiping the screen. During this week I have seen the video in my social news feed 13 times. Has it changed how people react with one another? Has it inspired anyone to set there technology down and have a real human experience? Who knows but for me it has made me realize I’m to involved in my social media feeds. As I was compelled to watch the video again for the 25th time, I logged out of my social news feed, I set my phone on the table and walked away. It’s been about 4 hours since I picked it up. Do I feel like I’m having withdrawals? Nope. Of course I obviously didn’t do completely what the video said to do but stepping away from my phone is a big step. Really, why do I need to be by it 24/7, it’s not like people I know actually pick their phone up and call me nor do I get regular steady text messages. Truly if I didn’t initiate conversations I would probably get maybe one or two in a weeks time, if that.

Of course I like to prove people wrong and I like to prove my thoughts right so let the ‘proving’ begin. Starting right now Monday, July 14, 2014 at 12:25 AM, I am not going to contact anyone till this time next week. Im not going to post status updates on my Facebook. I’m not going to initiate phone calls nor text messages, no Instagram photo sharing or flipagram videos. No I’ll still continue to write blogs though lately I have wrote a few and never get around to typing them out, I’ll still be here and on my other blogs.

If you haven’t checked out the video, take a moment and watch it.

Look Up

I would love to hear your thoughts! Comments are encouraged!

