What do you mean I am not IMMORTAL!

Flickr: Marshall Astor Daoist Immortal Riding Hat on Waves
Flickr: Marshall Astor
Daoist Immortal Riding Hat on Waves

Excuse me while I gather my thoughts on the question at hand. “At what age did you realize you were not immortal? How did you react to that discovery?” The year was 2014 on a chilly evening in October my life changed forever. I found out I was not immortal. My reaction was not sadness, not anger, it was SHOCK.

On a serious note, I can’t ever remember a time when I thought I was immortal. Looking back at my younger years I would say that I believed I was unbreakable but knew I could still face death at some point. I wouldn’t think twice about climbing up the pole of a swing set or jumping off the stairs 5 steps before the bottom. I really had no fear of breaking a body part. Now put me next to a bee or wasp, you would see me run like a baby crying for my mommy. My Father built my brother and I a playhouse when we were younger, I couldn’t wait for it to be finished. It was a grayish blue building high in the air. My side of the playhouse had pretty curtains while my brother’s side definitely screamed ‘boy’. I was so scared of wasps and bees that one day I went up to our playhouse and seen a wasp flying around inside and I ran out of the place as fast as I could. Even after my father removed the wasp, I never set foot in the playhouse again. You may think it ridiculous but for me, at that young age, I was NOT being ridiculous. To me I had good reason to be afraid of those stingers. The summer before our playhouse was complete I was playing on the slip-n-slide in the back yard. As I ran to jump onto it I stepped on a bee and thought my life was ending. Even though I was really fine after about 20 minutes I would never forget the day I stepped on a bee and never let anyone else forget it either.

Now that I am older I still take risks but prior to doing it I always have a quick thought of all the bones I could break or a body part I could bruise in the process. Even though I never thought I was immortal, I thought I was unbreakable and looking back now, I sure miss those days.

Pingback

Image Credit

I would love to hear your thoughts! Comments are encouraged!

