How do you know your love is real?

Image From: Pixabay
Image From: Pixabay

How do you know you love someone?

The question at first glance seems an easy one to answer but for me it has been a hard one to answer. Expressing love and affection has always came easy to me but to say the word out loud “Love”, now that has always been a struggle for me. Growing up the words “I love you” was not something you heard often. Through my adult life I have found it hard to allow those words to flow freely off my tongue. In a way I associated the words with allowing myself to be vulnerable and that is something I work hard at every day to avoid.

How do you know someone means those 3 words they say to you, “I love you”?

The honest answer to this question is, you don’t know. I believe at times people say those words “love you” because they think it is what they should say. The words are truly empty but you as the recipient can’t always decipher if it is backed by true feelings and meaning. These 3 words seem to have developed into words just thrown around as easy and free as a hello is. For me there are very few people I have looked at and said those words too. I don’t advertise my skittishness to saying “I love you” but if I did those people who I have allowed those words to flow freely off my tongue would know, if I say it, I mean it.

When you are about to let those 3 words, “I love you” roll of your tongue, make sure it’s real and if it is not, just walk away.

3 thoughts on “How do you know your love is real?

  1. I wonder what has brought on the use of “I love you” so frequently among friends and acquaintances now in the context of greeting or departure. I’ve noticed this lately and find it odd. I’m like you–I don’t say it much or easily and find it to be sacred in its use, not just an afterthought after saying “goodbye.”

    Like

I would love to hear your thoughts! Comments are encouraged!

