1 Room Filled With Fear

Image From: Pixabay
Image From: Pixabay

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “1984.”

You’re locked in a room with your greatest fear. Describe what’s in the room.

Friends, family members and acquaintances fill my room. The longer we are locked up together I feel pressure in my chest, the room temperature seems to be rising by the second and  the air seems thin. To leave this locked room I would have to face my greatest fear, the people in this room. You may be thinking “Why would your friends, family and acquaintances be your greatest fear?” Well, the ones in this room have at some time, or multiple times let me down, either emotionally or physically. They have all crushed and beat my trust to a thick pulp.

Their decision to choose another side, knowing that the person was in the wrong, caring not about my feelings.

Their decision to choose not to pickup the phone up and make an effort to know what is going on in my life. Yet they expect me to be there waiting to hear what is going on in theirs. 

Their decision to always ask for something, knowing I will do it without anything in return. They abuse my sensitive, caring side.

Their decision to say they will help me, but have to be reminded. If it was important, if I was important, they should remember what they said they were going to help me with.

Their decision to never ask if they could be of help with things in my life.

Their decision to talk to others about me instead of asking me themselves. 

Their decision to not check on me when they are fully aware I am hurt or having a struggle.

Their decision to always be to busy.

Their decision to make me carry the relationship by always being the one who has to ask if they want to do something. Rarely being the one who is asked. 

Their decision to say they would keep it between the two of us but go off and tell others.

Their decision to always critic my parenting, yet never offer any help or wisdom, just the underlying tone that I am incompetent.  

Their decision to make everything that goes on in their lives something special and mine just a passing thought.

My greatest fear is having to confront these people. Having to face the fact, that their are no true relationships in this room. No matter how many times they have hurt me, I would never want to be forced hurt them.

One thought on “1 Room Filled With Fear

I would love to hear your thoughts! Comments are encouraged!

