Unpopular Choices

safari-1050446_1280.jpg

Tell us about a time when you had to choose between two options, and you picked the unpopular choice.

Our day to day lives are filled with choices we have to make. Once we become adults those choices increase when we begin working.

What makes a choice unpopular? Making a choice is about personal preferences. For some people choices are not about showing individuality but instead by showing their values. A choice viewed as a popular choice or an unpopular choice is different for everyone it depends on their preference.

What are some of the major choices in my life that people may have felt them to be unpopular?

  1. At the age of 21 I became a mother. Two months after having my child I became a single mother. I am sure people who knew me felt that it was the wrong choice to have a child either at that age, the unstable relationship I was in or even the fact that it was clear I was far from financially stable.
  2. I went to college and later made the decision to not complete my college education and instead focus on my current career. Education is important and I know that but at the time I decided it wasn’t helping me forward my career and felt I wanted to focus on trying to advance it without a degree. There were people who felt this wasn’t the popular choice because they believed in having a college education and it was the way you move your career forward.
  3. When I became a single mother I decided to focus solely on my child and put my personal life on hold. Being a single parent I was going to ensure my child didn’t miss out on anything a two parent household would provide. I would make myself available at all times for my child and the only way I could do this in my opinion was to put my personal life on hold. I am sure people who knew me felt this was not a popular choice to make. Just because you have a child doesn’t mean you stop your life, single parent or not.
  4. Through the years of being single I decided that marriage wasn’t something I wanted to experience. As my life stayed uneventful everyone around me went in and out of relationships and eventually most married but I instead decided single life was more for me. There were people who felt this wasn’t the popular choice because I hadn’t been in a relationship for many years and they thought I couldn’t know that marriage wasn’t for me.

Over the course of my life I have made many choices that were seen as unpopular ones. No one person, not even yourself can say they make all popular choices.

 

Pingback

One thought on “Unpopular Choices

  1. I guess I wouldn’t call my choices “unpopular” as more difficult.

    First one: Choosing to separate myself from my parents. Too toxic of a relationship and they would not accept my step-son as a part of the family.

    Second one: After getting let go from my ‘white collar’ job choosing a ‘blue collar’ job and struggling financially for a few years due to a massive difference in pay.

    However in both cases, I think making that “unpopular” choice proved to be the right decision as I am in a much better place now.

    Like

I would love to hear your thoughts! Comments are encouraged!

