Girl’s Guide to Online Dating

wedding-night-1145419_1280

 

Finding prince charming and securing your future has become a daunting task these days with social media outlets, dating phone apps and dating websites taking the place of the good old fashion “get drunk and take someone home with you forever” method. I’m not a personal fan of online dating but if I was looking for a mate, realistically it would be my best option since all of my friends have been married for what feels like centuries. What about their friends, you ask? Well, what I have learned from having married friends is, for the most part, their friend circle is filled with a majority of married couples. Sometimes, when I think about it, I think there is a secret unspoken rule that when you’re married you are only allowed a certain percentage of friends who are single and the percentage seems to be set extremely low. Once a couple gets married they seem to turn their attention to their single friends in hopes they can get them chained to a mate quickly, because they too should experience the supposed ‘wedded bliss’ marriage brings into ones life. This is where the single person answers the call from their married friends which consist of a lot of talking, on the friends part, about why the one flying solo should be using an online dating site. Lets take a moment and look at some of the reasons my married friends have told me why I should be using online dating websites, and lets not forget about those dating phone apps too.

  1. Using a dating site will speed up the process you have to go through to find a lifelong mate. – Essentially what they are saying is scrolling through profiles is like the screening process directors go through to choose an actor for a role in a movie. If I don’t like their head shot and bio, I can just swipe them away because you should be able to tell exactly what type of person they are by a short written description. And of course everyone is completely honest when answering dating site questions and filling out their profiles.  No one would hide things or omit details of course, all you will see is complete raw honestly. I think not. Meeting a person in a public setting isn’t going to gain you better insight into who they are as a person.
  2. You are guaranteed to find a mate using online dating, they match your responses to questions with other people’s responses. – Okay, I can say this makes sense on a small level, you want your mate to be interested in things you like to do, but what about opposites attract? Personally I love everything about myself but do I want to have a mate that is exactly like me? No. One of the things I like to do to relax is crochet. Do I want a mate that crochets? No, this is something I like doing alone sitting on the couch watching reruns of Gas Money Garage on the Discovery Channel.  By myself.
  3. You can see what the guy looks like before deciding to meet them. – Sounds judgmental but lets be honest here, looks matter. When finding a lifelong mate you need to be attracted to them in someway.  I believe that’s reality. What I think is overlooked, is that we live in a world with a program called Photoshop. Now, their response to my mentioning Photoshop is that men don’t use Photoshop. Awe, but wait, in the google store there is a Fake Abs Pic Editor and it shows it has been downloaded and installed 50,000 times but men don’t use Photoshop, right? Photoshop aside, even I look different in person than I do in untouched photos. That light was in just the right place when the picture was taken. I don’t walk around holding a lamp at just the right angle to highlight my face.

When you don’t analyze the online dating apps, I suppose they seem like a good option. It is a directory of all the single people in the world, right at your fingertips. The world has become consumed with using items that lesson their workload and bring convenience into their lives. There is nothing more convenient than being able to take a poop while searching the directory of single people and being able to swipe away the undesirables with just your thumb.

I’ve decided to conduct an experiment to see if my married friends are right and joining a few dating sites will match me with my prince charming. I have signed up for a few dating sites and will be coming back here to blog about my online dating experience. I will share my messages with you and I will be fair, in that, I will share the good, the bad and the ugly.

Stay Tuned…

 

Do you have experience with online dating? Share your story, the good, the bad or even the ugly in the comments below. 

Haven’t had the pleasure reading the Girl’s Guide to Online Dating Series? No worries, just follow the links below.

Girl’s Guide to Spank Me Like an Avocado

Girl’s Guide to Burger King Dating

Girl’s Guide to Online Dating Profile Don’ts

 

.
 

7 thoughts on “Girl’s Guide to Online Dating

  1. Best of luck on your endeavor.

    I’m a fossil, and used the old school method you mentioned to find mates. On one hand it worked well, as I’ve been married three times. On the other hand, the do-overs show it didn’t work too well when it comes to “forever”. Would love to hear how well it works for you, as some day when I’m perhaps a bit older I’ll be looking for a fourth (and final) Ms. Daley.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Maybe the married couples are right and to find the “forever” you have to get it online. I have purchased things online that I have had “forever” so it just might work when shopping for a mate. Stay tuned because my dating sites are up and running and I will be updating everyone on my findings. Feel free to jump into this experiment too if you would like, if you do, feel free to share your findings in the comments. If I don’t find a “forever” mate, I am pretty sure I will at least find a lot of laughter in this experiment.

      Liked by 2 people

    2. “I don’t walk around holding a lamp at just the right angle to highlight my face.” You don’t??? Why not?? I’ve discovered it really ups your chances of meeting a looney! Or was that not what you wanted???
      I was cat fished by one of those “I work out of country, I’m an engineer” guys. I only figured it out when they berated me for asking for a pic, with my name, when I had sent them one. Boy, was I ever naive!
      Mr Daley, what a refreshing way to ask for a date!

      Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear your thoughts! Comments are encouraged!

